Vegan Carrot Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Vegan Carrot Oatmeal Raisin CookiesVegan Carrot Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. Phew! That’s a mouthful. (No pun intended!) I first came across these vegan cookies in their Carrot Cherry Millet form on Joy the Baker’s blog before finding the original Carrot Oatmeal version on 101 Cookbooks. Healthy vegan oatmeal cookies that contain no eggs, no cane sugar, no butter, no animal by-products whatsoever? I was sold!Vegan Cookie BatterThe simple ingredients in these cookies make them so easy to throw together. While the original recipes contained nuts and dried cherries, I substituted raisins to create this carrot-cake-meets-oatmeal-raisin-cookie version in vegan form. And did I mention I snuck in a bit of flax seed for some omega-3 action? Oh yes I did! The fact that these cookies have no butter or eggs amazes me, as they hold together beautifully and bake up moist, exactly how a cookie should be. While I try not to think about the fat and calories in some of the baked goods I whip up, these healthy cookies piqued my curiosity and I went ahead and added it up. A few calculations later (1/2 cup = 8 tbsp and oh my does olive oil really have that many calories?!), omitting the cinnamon, ginger, baking powder and salt as negligible calories, I came up with a final answer… 58 calories and 3 grams of fat per cookie in a batch of 36! In Weight Watchers language, this translates to 1 point… one teensy point per cookie! In kitchen language, this translates to me eating two cookies and enough batter to count myself at three. But oh were they delicious! Just enough raisins to have some in every bite, with a touch of sweetness (but not too sweet) and a cinnamon-y smell perfect for the fall. Should I spring for a fourth point? The day is not yet up.

Ready to get your vegan cookie on? Check out the recipe!

Leave a comment